Food Art

Jim Victor is a sculptor of food whose works have been featured in many papers and magazines including the New York Times, Philadelphia and some are in the presidential library. His various sculptures are made from butter, chocolate, cheese and even vegetables. When he works with butter and chocolate he must do so in a freezer to prevent his media from melting.

Mother and Children by Jim Victor. 2010 This sculptures is made from butter

 

"David" as Surfer in Butter, 2010

Christel Assante of France  is another food artist that carves quail and goose eggs. Her works take her over 3 days to complete and are quite delicate.

Chouette, date created unknown, carved from egg by Christel Assante

Geisha, date unknown, by Christel Assante carved from egg

Jason Mecier from Los Angeles creates mosaic art using everything from candies and dried beans to cookies and noodles. He has no formal art training yet he has always loved mosaic art and decided to create his own. His subjects are always from pop culture and his art has become so popular that celebrities send him materials for him to make their portrait.

Grease, in beans and noodles. Date unknown by Jason Mecier

Carl Warner of Liverpool, England creates “Foodscapes” which are made from real food on a triangular table to give the image depth then he photographs the art.

Broccoli Forest by Carl Warner

 

 

Untitled by Carl Warner made from various fruits and vegetables

Untitled by Carl Warner made from various fruits and vegetables

All these works fit into my theme of food art because they are all made from food. I really like all these works because I love food. I especially love Carl Warner’s works for their depth and color. It amazes me that everything around us could potentially be created by food.

2 responses to “Food Art

  1. Very interesting post. I love all the art you displayed it looks delicious lol. I like that you found decent information on the artist. My favorite art that you posted would have to be Christel Assante egg work. It is very elegant and you can really see she put the time into it. Overall, fun blog and I enjoyed looking at the art.

  2. I love your topic! It is very original and one that did not even cross my mind. Your information was great but lacking in a few areas. I would have liked to learned more about that actual pieces that were made out of food. There were no dates on some, which doesn’t mean they were created after 1975. There was definitely a great general topic and they all seemed to fit together. I recently went on the tour of the Jelly Belly factory in Modesto California and artists have created so many portraits of people made out of Jelly Bellys. They are such a hit! One of all small children’s first art projects are macaroni projects. I guess some people still stick to their childhood ideas, but in a more elaborate way. I love food too, wow small world.

Leave a comment